PDCA recognizes outstanding companies and individuals who have made a significant contribution to the members, the association and/or industry over the past year. PDCA Association Awards and *Project of the Year Awards are traditionally presented during a ceremony at the PDCA Annual Conference, with alternative recognition ceremonies every third year when IFCEE replaces the Conference. 

*Project of the Year Awards are first revealed to PDCA's each August in Issue #4 of PileDriver magazine. To learn more about this initiative, please visit the dedicated page,
PDCA Project of the Year.

Project of the Year

The PDCA Project of the Year Awards program is one of PDCA's most prestigious initiatives. Open to any driven pile project completed by a PDCA member, the awards are dedicated to acknowledging the ingenuity, hard work and commitment that goes into each driven pile project, and recognized excellence in construction projects completed by PDCA members. All PDCA members - whether a contractor, associate or engineering affiliate - are eligible to submit their projects for consideration.
2023 Winner: Chris Normand
Committee Chair of the Year

Presented to the PDCA Committee Chair for outstanding dedication and commitment to the PDCA & exemplary leadership.

2023 Winner: George Smith (John Miles pictured)
Associate Member of the Year

Presented to the Associate Member of PDCA who has demonstrated a consistent contribution of time, resource and expertise to a specific and critical function of the organization.
2023 Winner: Greg Canivan
John T. Parker, Jr. Industry Ambassador Award

Presented to a PDCA member who shares the late John Parker's passion for pile driving.  Recipients are selected by a collaboration of PDCA leadership and a representative from PDCA of South Carolina Chapter.
2023 Winner: Les Chernauskas
Dr. Frank Rausche Professional Engineers Service Award

Presented an engineer who has made a significant contribution to the PDCA, the driven pile industry and the engineering profession from the Geotechnical, Civil or Structural engineering disciplines. 
2023 Winner: Jason Moore
Presidential Award for Distinguished Service

Pays tribute to an individual who has made long-term and significant contributions to the PDCA and the pile driving industry through effective leadership, support and participation. The PDCA President selects this honoree who has demonstrated valuable personal and professional service to PDCA.
2023 Winner: Dr. Dick Hartman
E.A.L. Smith Award Lecture

The award lecture is intended to be given every third year during the International Foundation Congress and Equipment Expo (IFCEE). It describes projects where innovations led to highly efficient, environmentally sensitive and resource conscious driven pile solutions. The E.A.L. Smith Award Lecture is bestowed in keeping with the spirit of the Smith approach of simplicity and practicality.  The is selected by a subcommittee of the PDCA Educational Committee and approved by the PDCA Board of Directors.
2023 Winner: Buck Darling
Lifetime Achievement Award

This award is presented to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the PDCA over a long period during association with the PDCA.  Due to the significance and required high achievement required to receive this award, it is only presented on special occasions and as warranted by the actions of the recipient and through unanimous consent by the PDCA Board of Directors.
Powered by BRYNK® Growth Platform